How does the competition work?

Here at Kingsholm we are deep into the Rugby Union season with the prospect of the Six Nations competition starting with a match against France on the 1st of February; however that doesn’t mean that we have taken our eye off the ball as far as Kingsholm Venues are concerned. Our meeting rooms in Gloucester are in full use and anyone looking for a wedding venue in Gloucester will be knocked out when they see how fantastic and very different a wedding here with us would be.

We have had lots of comments and questions this week, about how the Six Nations Competition actually works regarding the history of the tournament, so here is brief background:

Several individual competitions take place under the umbrella of the Six Nations tournament.
The oldest is the Calcutta Cup, which has been running since 1879 and is contested annually between England and Scotland.
The Millennium Trophy has been awarded to the winner of the game between England and Ireland with the first presented in 1989, and in the same year, the Centenary Quaich was contested between Ireland and Scotland for the first time.
Since 2007, France and Italy have also contested for their own silverware – the Giuseppe Garibaldi Trophy.
It was created to honour the 200th anniversary of the birth of Giuseppe Garibaldi, who helped unify Italy and was also a French military general.

In 1871, England and Scotland played the first rugby union international with the latter coming out on top.
After 12 years of occasional friendly matches between the teams, the inaugural Home International Championship, comprising England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales was played in 1883.
England won the first series, along with a Triple Crown, and up until 1893 when Wales won and 1894 when Ireland won only them and Scotland had been crowned champions.
Wales’ triumphs in 1908 and 1909, although won during the Home Nations era, were the first Grand Slams as they defeated France in both seasons.

France officially joined in 1910, having played in four tournaments up to that point, with the Championship now referred to as the Five Nations.
England won the first Championship of the new era while Wales followed up winning the first ever Grand Slam by winning the first Grand Slam of the Five Nations a year later.
The competition was suspended during World War I before France were ejected from the tournament in 1931, which reverted back to being the Home Nations from 1932 through to 1939.
Proceedings were halted again during World War II and resumed in 1947 as the Five Nations with France welcomed backed into the fold.

By |2014-01-22T11:49:13+00:00January 22nd, 2014|Uncategorized|